San Mateo County Voter Guide

This Election 2020 San Mateo County voter guide will help you cut through the rhetoric, election propaganda and biased media coverage of the campaigns. This guide ranks every aspect of a candidate’s record according to experience, integrity, and commitment to community.

Here you’ll find recommendations for:

  • President
  • Propositions
  • Superior Court Judges
  • Congress
  • State Senator
  • State Assembly
  • City Council

Scroll down for our recommendations.

Don’t forget to subscribe to the Huey Report for updates on critical issues, trends and policies affecting our freedoms and are impacting our economy, legislation, culture and election results.

Let’s get started.

Ratings: Every candidate is considered after thorough research; we also have a questionnaire for candidates to complete. Here is our rating system:

  •  : The best candidate. Our strongest endorsement.
  • : Very good.
  • : Acceptable.
  • : Vote only to prevent worse candidate(s) from winning.
  • : Terrible. Do Not Vote. All your other votes will count.

Click here for new policy for write-in candidates.


  • Joe Biden(D) 
  • Donald Trump (R)  [Endorsed]


To get an understanding of why we recommend the propositions the way we do, I have created a short video reviewing each proposition and the reasons why we say yes or no, along with some other detail you should find interesting.  You can watch the video HERE.

14 – No

15 – No

16 – No

17 – No

18 – No

19 – No

20 – Yes

21 – No

22 – Yes

23 – No

24 – No

25 – No

U.S. House of Representatives

District 14

  • Jackie Speier (D) (Incumbent)
  • Ran Petel (R)

District 18

  • Anna Eshoo (D) (Incumbent)
  • Rishi Kumar (D)

State Senate

District 11

  • Scott Wiener (D) (Incumbent) 
  • Jackie Fielder (D) 

District 13

  • Alexander Glew (R) 
  • Josh Becker (D) (Incumbent)

State Assembly

District 19

  • Phil Ting (D) (Incumbent) 
  • John McDonnell (R) 

District 22

  • Kevin Mullin (D) (Incumbent)
  • Mark Gill (R)

District 24

  • Marc Berman (D)
  • Peter Ohtaki (R) (Incumbent)