San Diego County Voter Guide

This Election 2020 San Diego County voter guide will help you cut through the rhetoric, election propaganda and biased media coverage of the campaigns. This guide ranks every aspect of a candidate’s record according to experience, integrity, and commitment to community.

Here you’ll find recommendations for:

  • President
  • Propositions
  • Superior Court Judges
  • Congress
  • State Senator
  • Assembly Men
  • City Council

Scroll down for our recommendations.

Don’t forget to subscribe to Reality Alert for updates on critical issues, trends and policies affecting our freedoms and are impacting our economy, legislation, culture and election results.

Let’s get started.

Ratings: Every candidate is considered after thorough research; we also have a questionnaire for candidates to complete. Here is our rating system:

  •  : The best candidate. Our strongest endorsement.
  • : Very good.
  • : Acceptable.
  • : Vote only to prevent worse candidate(s) from winning.
  • : Terrible. Do Not Vote. All your other votes will count.

Click here for new policy for write-in candidates.

2020  Presidential Election Recommendations

(View official election schedule here)


  • Joe Biden(D) 
  • Donald Trump (R)  [Endorsed]


14 vote NO

15 vote NO

16 vote NO

17 vote NO

18 vote NO

19 vote NO

20 vote YES

21 vote NO

22 vote YES

23 vote NO

24 vote NO

25 vote NO 


Judges sitting on California courts may be incompetent, corrupt or lazy. Even worse, many are political opportunists with a political agenda.

There are two types of judges. One is the “judicial activist.” A judicial activist legislates from the bench. Instead of strictly interpreting California law, these judges make the laws. Instead of applying the law to facts, they rule based on their own values

Judicial activists have:

  • Overturned voter-passed initiatives and laws passed by the state legislature because they personally have different belief system. They twist the law to rationalize their decisions.
  • Imposed their own moral codes, political beliefs and secular values in an effort to reshape our society and promote social engineering.

The second judicial philosophy, “strict constructionist,” is one in which the judge impartially arrives at a fair judgment based on law.

Judicial activists are usually more liberal; strict constructionists are usually more conservative.

1 being lowest, 10 being best. This is a 1-10 scale for Judge ratings.


We come up with the final rating by taking the average of the candidate’s Judicial Index and Qualifications. For example, if the candidate had a Judicial Index of 8 and Qualifications of 6, their overall rating would be 7.

Superior Court Judges

Office 18

  • CJ Mody – Rating 8
  • Roberta Winston – Rating 4

Office 22

  • Steve Miller – Rating 6
  • Alana Robinson – Rating 4
  • Mark Skeels – Rating 8 [endorsed]

Office 30

  • Mike Murphy – Rating 5
  • Pete Murray – Rating 7
  • Tim Nader – Rating 4
  • Paul Starita – Rating 4

Office 36

  • Michelle Laleggio – Rating 4
  • Shawn A. McMillan – Rating 9

U.S. Representative

49th District

  • Mike Levin (D) (Incumbent) 
  • Brian Maryott (R)

50th District

  • Ammar Campa-Najjar (D)
  • Darrell Issa (R) 

51st District

  • Juan Hidalgo (R) 
  • Juan Vargas (D) (incumbent) 

52nd District

  • Scott Peters (D) (Incumbent)
  • Jim DeBello (R) 

53rd District

  • Georgette Gomez (D)
  • Sara Jacobs (D)

California State Senate

39th District

  • Toni Atkins (D) (Incumbent)

State Assembly

District 71

  • Liz Lavertu (D)
  • Randy Voepel (R) (Incumbent) 

District 75

  • Karen Schwartz (D)
  • Marie Waldron (R) (Incumbent) 

District 76

  • Tasha Boerner Horvath (D) (Incumbent)
  • Melanie Burkholder (R) 

District 77

  • Brian Maienschein (D) (Incumbent)
  • June Yang Cutter (R) 

District 78

  • Sarah Davis (D)
  • Christopher Ward (D)

District 79

  • Shirley Weber (D) (Incumbent)
  • John Moore (R) 

District 80

  • Lorena Gonzalez Fletcher (D) (Incumbent)
  • John Vogel (R)