San Bernardino Voter Guide

Download Free Voter Recommendations Guide

This Election 2018 San Bernardino Voter County Guide will help you cut through the rhetoric, election propaganda and biased media coverage of the campaigns. This guide ranks every aspect of a candidate’s record according to experience, integrity and commitment to community. Here you’ll find recommendations for:

  • Governor
  • Statewide Offices
  • Legislatures
  • Judges
  • Propositions and More!

Scroll down for our recommendations. Don’t forget to subscribe to Reality Alert for updates on critical issues, trends and policies affecting our freedoms and are impacting our economy, legislation, culture and election results. Do you live in another county? Go to the list of counties here. Let’s get started. Ratings: Every candidate is considered after thorough research; we also have a questionnaire for candidates to complete. Here is our rating system:

  •  : The best candidate. Our strongest endorsement.
  • : Very good.
  • : Acceptable.
  • : Vote only to prevent worse candidate(s) from winning.
  • : Terrible. Do Not Vote. All your other votes will count.

June 5th, 2018 Primary Election Recommendations

Statewide Offices

Governor 27 candidates total | The below are the candidates polling the highest (For full explanation of this endorsement, click here)

  • Travis Allen (R)
  • John Cox (R) 
  • John Chiang (D)
  • Gavin Newsom (D)
  • Delaine Eastin (D)
  • Antonio Villagairosa (D)

Lt. Governor 11 candidates total | The below are the candidates polling the highest

  • Jeff Bleich (D)
  • Ed Hernandez (D)
  • Eleni Kounalakis (D)
  • David Hernandez (R) 
  • David Fennell (R)

Secretary of State

  • Ruben Major (D)
  • Mark Meuser (R) 
  • Michael Feinstein (G)
  • Alex Padilla (D)
  • T. Weber (P)

State Controller

  • Konstantinos Roditis (R) 
  • Betty Yee (D)

Treasurer; California

  • Jack M. Guerrero (R) 
  • Fiona Ma (D)
  • Vivek Viswanathan (D)
  • Kevin Akin (P)
  • Mike Gatto (D)

Attorney General; California

  • Steven Bailey (R) 
  • Xavier Becerra (D)
  • Eric Early (R)
  • Dave Jones (D)

Insurance Commissioner

  • Ricardo Lara (D)
  • Asif Mahmood (D)
  • Nathalie Hrizi (P)
  • Steve Poizner (I) 

State Superintendent of Public Instruction

  • Lily Ploski (I)
  • Tony Thurmond (D)
  • Marshall Tuck (D) 
  • Steven Ireland (I)

U.S. Senator 32 candidates total | The below are the candidates polling the highest (For full explanation of this endorsement, click here)

  • Dianne Feinstein (D)
  • Kevin de Leon (D)
  • Paul Taylor (R) 
  • Erin Cruz (R)
  • Tom Palzer (R)


Proposition 68: Authorizes Bond Funding parks, Natural Resources Protection, Climate Adaptation, Water Quality and Supply, and Flood Protection. Recommendation: No vote Proposition 69: Requires that certain new transportation revenues be used for transportation purposes. Legislative Constitutional Amendment. Recommendation: No vote Proposition 70: Requires Legislative Supermajority Vote Approving Use of Cap–And-Trade Reserve Fund. Legislative Constitutional Amendment. Recommendation: No vote Proposition 71: Sets Effective Date for Ballot Measures. Legislative Constitutional Amendment. Recommendation: Yes vote Proposition 72: Permits Legislature to Exclude Newly Constructed Rain-Capture Systems From Property-Tax Reassessment Requirement. Legislative Constitutional Amendment. Recommendation: Yes vote

Judges (For Judicial Rating Explanation Click Here)

Superior Court Judge; County of San Bernardino; Office 2

  • Arthur Harrison: 6 (JI: 6, Q: 7) 
  • David Lopez: 4 (JI: 3, Q: 6)

U.S. House of Representatives

U.S. Representative, 8th District

  • Marge Doyle (D)
  • Ronald O’Donnell (D)
  • Rita Ramirez (D)
  • Paul Cook (R) – Incumbent
  • Tim Donnelly (R) 

U.S. Representative, 27th District

  • Beatrice I Cardenas (R)  (write in only)
  • Judy Chu (D)
  • Bryan Witt (D)

U.S. Representative, 31st District

  • Sean Flynn (R) 
  • Pete Aguilar (D)
  • Kaisar Ahmed (D)

U.S. Representative, 35th District

  • Christian Leonel Valiente (R) 
  • Joe Baca (D)
  • Norma J. Torres (D)

U.S. Representative, 39th District

  • Phil Liberatore (R) 
  • Jay Chen (D)
  • Bob Huff (R)
  • Ted Rusk (D)
  • Andrew Sarega (R)

California State Senator

State Senator, 16th District

  • Shannon Grove (R) 
  • Gregory Tatum (R)
  • Ruth Musser-Lopez (D)

State Senator, 20th District

  • Paul Vincent Avila (D)
  • Connie Leyva (D)
  • Matthew Munson (R) 

State Senator, 29th District (Special Recall Election)  Recommendation: YES to recall Josh Newman, and Bruce Whitaker for Replacement A YES Vote will recall Newman whose YES vote gave the DEMS just enough votes to pass the recent GAS TAX INCREASE.

  • Kevin Carr (D)
  • Joseph Cho (D)
  • Josh Ferguson (D)
  • Bruce Whitaker (R) 
  • Josh Newman (D)

California State Assembly

State Assembly, 33rd District 

  • Jay Obernolte (R) 
  • Scott Markovich (D)
  • Socorro Cisneros (D)

State Assembly, 36th District

  • Jonathon Ervin (D)
  • Steve Fox (D)
  • Tom Lackey (R) 

State Assembly, 40th District  

  • Libbern Gwen Cook (D)
  • James C. Ramos (D)
  • Henry Gomez Nickel (R) 

State Assembly, 41th District

  • Alan S. Reynolds (None) 
  • Chris Holden (D)
  • Kenneth (Kenny) Rotter (D)

State Assembly, 42nd District

  • Chad Mayes (R)
  • Carol A. Bouldin (G)
  • Gary Jeandron (R) 
  • Andrew F. Kotyuk (R)
  • Deniantionette Mazingo (D)

State Assembly, 52nd District

  • Toni Holle (R) 
  • Ben W. Gibbins (L)
  • Frank Guzman (D)
  • Freddie Rodriguez (D)

State Assembly, 55th District

  • Phillip Chen (R) 
  • Melissa Fazli (D)
  • Gregg D. Fritchle (D)
  • James G. Gerbus (R)

California Board of Equalization

California Board of Equalization, Member, District 1

  • Tom Hallinana (D)
  • David Evans (R)
  • Ted Gaines (R) 
  • Connie Conway (R)

California Board of Equalization, Member, District 3

  • Rick Marshall (R) 
  • Micheal “Me-Haul” O’Leary (R)
  • Tony Vazquez (D)
  • Scott Svonkin (D)
  • Doug Kriegel (D)
  • Ben Pak (D)
  • Nancy Pearlman (D)
  • Cheryl Turner (D)

California Board of Equalization, Member, District 4

  • Mike Schaefer (D)
  • David Dodson (D)
  • Nader F. Shahatit (R)
  • Ken Lopez-Maddox (D)
  • Joel Anderson (R) 
  • John Kelly (R)
  • Jim Stieringer (R)

County Offices

Assessor/Recorder, San Bernardino County

  • Bob Dutton 

Supervisor, District 2

  • Marc Steinorth
  • Janice Rutherford 

Supervisor, District 4

  • Curt Hagman 
  • Gloria Negrete McLeod

Auditor-Controller/Treasurer/Tax Collector

  • Ensen Mason 
  • Oscar Valdez

District Attorney

  • Mike Ramos 
  • Jason Anderson


  • John McMahon 

Local Offices

City of Loma Linda, City Council

  • Phil Dupper 

City of San Bernardino, City Council, Ward 4

  • Frederic Shorett 

City of San Bernardino, Mayor

  • Carey Davis 
  • John Valdivia
  • Karmel Roe