Rutherford County

Tennessee Voter Guide – 2022 Primary Races

How To Vote For, Not Against, Your Values

Ratings: Every candidate is considered after thorough research; we also have a questionnaire for candidates to complete, including our Tennessee Taxpayers Protection Pledge.

Our highest ratings go to candidates who will defend freedom, stand for free enterprise, or have a conservative and/or biblical worldview based on their ability to stand firm against efforts to increase taxes, size of government, weaken law and order, and crush individual freedom. Here is our rating system:

  • ***** The best candidate. Our strongest endorsement.
  • **** Very good.
  • *** Acceptable.
  • ** Vote only to prevent worse candidate(s) from winning.
  • * Terrible. Do Not Vote. All your other votes will count.

Search Your District



Tennessee; Rutherford County, Governor of Tennessee; Primary Election

Bill Lee, Republican (Incumbent) **** (Endorsed)

Jason Martin, Democrat *

Constance M. Every, Independent (Not Rated)

John Gentry, Independent (Not Rated)

Basil Marceaux, Independent (Not Rated)

Charles Van Morgan, Independent (Not Rated)

Alfred O’Neil, Independent (Not Rated)

Deborah Rouse, Independent (Not Rated)

Michael E. Scantland, Independent (Not Rated)

Rick Tyler, Independent (Not Rated)

Tennessee; Rutherford County, United States House of Representatives; District 4

Scott DesJarlais, Republican

Wayne Steele, Democrat **

Clyde Benson, Independent (Not Rated)

Tharon Chandler, Independent (Not Rated)

David Leighton Jones, Independent (Not Rated)

Joseph “Krishnadas” Magyer, Independent (Not Rated)

Mike Winton, Independent (Not Rated)


Tennessee; Rutherford County, TN House, District 13; Republican Primary

Robert Stevens, Republican **** (Endorsed)

Jeff Crum


Tennessee; Rutherford County; Tennessee House, District 34, General Election

Tim Rudd, Republican **** (Endorsed)

Laura Bohling, Democrat *


Tennessee; Rutherford County, State House, District 37, General Election

Charlie Baum, Republican **** (Endorsed)

Bill Levine, Democrat **


Tennessee; Rutherford County, Tennessee House of Representatives, District 48, General Election

Bryan Terry, Republican

Matt Ferry, Democrat


Tennessee; Rutherford County, Tennessee House of Representatives, District 49, General Election

Mike Sparks, Republican **** (Endorsed)

Morgan Woodberry, Democrat **


Tennessee; Rutherford County, Tennessee Senate, District 13, General Election

Dawn White, Republican

Kelly Northcutt, Democrat


Judges sitting on the courts may be incompetent, corrupt or lazy. Even worse, many are political opportunists with a political agenda.


There are two types of judges: judicial activists and strict constructionists. A judicial activist legislates from the bench. Instead of strictly interpreting law, these judges make the laws. Instead of applying the law to facts, they rule based on their own values.


Judicial activists overturn voter-passed initiatives and laws passed by the state legislature because they personally have a different belief system, twist the law to rationalize their decisions, and impose their own moral codes, political beliefs, and secular values in an effort to reshape our society and promote social engineering.


Strict constructionists impartially arrive at a fair judgment based on law.


Judicial activists are usually more liberal; strict constructionists are usually more conservative


We come up with a final rating by taking the average of the candidate’s Judicial Index and Qualifications. For example, if the candidate had a Judicial Index of 8 and Qualifications of 6, their overall rating would be 7.


Judges are rated on a scale of 1-5 — 5 being best.

5 Stars – The best candidate. Our strongest endorsement
4 Stars – Very good
3 Stars – Acceptable
2 Stars – Vote only to prevent worse candidate(s) from winning
1 Star – Terrible. Do Not Vote, Unless We Say Endorsed. All Other Votes Will Count


Don’t see your county? Contact us at 615-490-8832 to learn what can be done.

For Voter Registration Lookup & Absentee By-mail Ballot Status Click Here.

Be sure to let your friends and neighbors know about the voter guide.

Note: We do not take money from any candidate for their endorsement. For over 20 years – we never have.

No corporations, political party, or group supports our research or efforts.

Only because of individuals like you are we able to publish a comprehensive voter guide.

Click HERE to see the notice on Connie Reguli vs. Sharon Guffee for Juvenile Court Judge.

To get updates, results, and other critical information… Sign up here.